Ashes dates for 2010-11 announced

England's scheduled defence of their Ashes crown in 2010-2011 has been revealed - with the New Year Test in Sydney delayed by a day.

Traditionally, it would begin on 2 January, but this time the players will get an extra day off to recover from the Boxing Day Test in Melbourne.

The series will feature the usual five matches, starting at the Gabba in Brisbane on 25 November.

As in 2006-07, Adelaide and Perth will host the second and third Tests.

England will play three warm-up games against first-class opponents before the start of the series and one in between the second and third Tests.

In-depth - Andrew Strauss on 'incredible' year

When England were thrashed 5-0 last time, they had only one first-class game before the first Test, although they did also play less competitive warm-up games against a President's XI and New South Wales.

England and Wales Cricket Board chief executive David Collier said: "The recent Ashes Test series between the two sides was the sporting highlight of the summer and has really whetted the appetite of all cricket supporters as England seek to retain the Ashes next winter."